Home | Scholarships | MHSRA Queen | Sponsors | Schedule | Contact Us

Manitoba High School Rodeo logo.

Manitoba High School Rodeo Association
Junior High Rodeo Division

Timed event roping, roughstock riding and racing rodeo competition
for Manitoba's junior (Cinch Division) and high school (MHSRA) kids.
Established in 1985.

Cinch Junior High Division Rodeo

1998 Champions

Barrels – Christa Locke, Souris                 Steer Wrestling - Lonnie Brown, Lenore

Poles – Erin Smith, Oak Lake                    Calf Roping - Lonnie Brown, Lenore

Breakaway – Brandi Sigfusson, McCreary   Bareback - Dylan Callum, Brandon

Goats – Brandi Sigfusson, McCreary           Saddle Bronc - Dylan Callum, Brandon

Team Roping - Ashley Gillespie, Argyle    & Glen Hamilton, Darlingford   

Queen – Holly-Lee Lambert, Westbourne       Bulls - Tyler Lafreniere, Lundar

First Runner-Up – Dawn Crump, Carman              

Rookie – Mandy Taylor, Hamiota                   Rookie – Scott King, Lenore

High Point Cowgirl – Dawn Crump        High Point Cowboy - Dylan Callum, Brandon

All-Round Cowboy - Dylan Callum – Brandon



Manitoba High School Rodeo Association is very pleased to announce the scholarship winners for 1998.  Scholarships of $100 (totaling $1600) were awarded to year-end winners in each event. 

Holly Lee Lambert - Queen (*Miss Congeniality at the NHSRA Finals in Gillette!) will also receive an additional $400 Queen Scholarship from Ivomec.

Other scholarships, based on academic ability, achievement, motivation and promise, with emphasis placed on character, leadership abilities, financial need, length and type of course, contributions to rodeo and community, were awarded as follows:

Dylan Callum from Brandon, High Point Cowboy  received a Canadian Professional Cowboys Association Scholarship as well as the Co-op Feeds Scholarship.  Dylan was also a recipient of $500 U.S. NHSRA Foundation Scholarship awarded at the National Finals Rodeo in Gillette, Wyoming in July.

Brandi Sigfusson from McCreary, High Point Cowgirl, received a Canadian Professional Rodeo Cowboys Scholarship, a Laredo Boots Scholarship, and Safeguard's Scholarship.  Brandi is also our other recipient of a NHSRA Foundation Scholarship awarded in Gillette

Chas Lambert of Westbourne was awarded an Ivomec Scholarship and a Bullseye Scholarship. 

Jill Craig from Stonewall, was awarded the Midwest Foods Scholarship. 

Cody Brown of Lenore, team roper, calf roper and steer wrestler was awarded the Monsanto Scholarship and the Manitoba Equine Ranchers Association Scholarship

Sherra Penner of Winkler, received scholarships from Laredo Boots, Morningstar Metals, and Manitoba Agricultural Societies. 

Heather Knox of Miami  was chosen for the Heartland Rodeo Association's Scholarship and the Canada West Boots Scholarship. 

Christa Locke of Souris received scholarships from Bullseye and Manitoba Agricultural .

National Director - Rick White, Oak Lake
President - Art Cochrane, Onanole
1st Vice President - Wayne Sagin, Carberry
2nd Vice President - Paul Phillips, Dauphin
Secretary - Lois Phillips, Dauphin
Treasurer - Beverley Becker, Carberry
Executive Directors: Craig Becker, Carberry; Jeff Craig, Stonewall; Brian Gillespie, Argyle; Candace Bergeson, Birtle;  Eva Blackshaw, Virden; John Rempel, Brandon; Butch Locke,  Souris; Keith Lambert, Westbourne; Bob Carlson, Deloraine; Ron Rothwell, Miami; Huntley Knox, Miami; Lois Gould, Carman.

President - Ashley Gillespie, Argyle
Vice-President - Brandi Sigfusson, McCreary
Secretary - Jillian Craig - Stonewall
Treasurer - Holly-Lee Lambert, Westbourne
Queen - Cindy Mantei, Brandon

1997/1998  Rodeos: McCreary, Red River Valley, Stonewall, Virden, Carman, Oak Lake, Fisherton and Miami (Finals)
Cowboy Prom at Oak Lake   Christmas Party at Westbourne 



National High School Rodeo Association

NHSRA National Sponsors

Home | Schedule | Scholarships | MHSRA Queen | Sponsors | Contact Us

A division of the National High School Rodeo Association.
Copyright © 2005-2011 MHSRA
Contact Webmaster